Tell Boston City Council to ban facial recognition surveillance

Posted June 23, 2020, 3:23 PM

Boston City Council is expected to vote THIS WEDNESDAY, June 24th on whether to ban the use of facial recognition surveillance by police and government agencies.

The cities of Somerville, Cambridge, Brookline, and Springfield have already banned the use of this invasive, racially biased, and ineffective software. City Councils across the US are taking steps to rein in police surveillance as protests demanding justice sweep the country. But we are hearing Mayor Marty Walsh may threaten to VETO this ordinance and allow face surveillance to continue. We can’t let that happen.

We need everyone to email and call the city council so that we can pass this ordinance with a veto proof majority. Tell them to BAN FACE SURVEILLANCE IN BOSTON!

Kim Janey
Council President
City Council District 7
Kim.Janey@boston.gov
617–635–3510

Anissa Essaibi George
City Councilor At-Large
A.E.George@boston.gov
617–635–4376

Michael Flaherty
City Councilor At-Large
Michael.F.Flaherty@boston.gov
617–635–4205

Julia Mejia
City Councilor At-Large
Julia.Mejia@boston.gov
617–635–4217

Michelle Wu
City Councilor At-Large
Michelle.Wu@boston.gov
617–635–3115

Lydia Edwards
City Councilor District 1
Lydia.Edwards@boston.gov
617–635–3200

Ed Flynn
City Councilor District 2
Ed.Flynn@boston.gov
617–635–3203

Frank Baker
City Councilor District 3
Frank.Baker@boston.gov
617–635–3455

Andrea Campbell
City Councilor District 4
Andrea.Campbell@boston.gov
617–635–3131

Ricardo Arroyo
City Councilor District 5
Ricardo.Arroyo@boston.gov
617–635–4210

Matt O’Malley
City Councilor District 6
Matthew.OMalley@boston.gov
617–635–4220

Kenzie Bock
City Councilor District 8
Kenzie.Bock@boston.gov
617–635–4225

Liz Breadon
City Councilor District 9
Liz.Breadon@boston.gov
617–635–3113