For immediate release: February 23, 2015


What a victory for Net Neutrality means for hundreds of millions of Internet users

WASHINGTON — Supporters of the open Internet will convene a telephone press conference on Tuesday to set the stage for a momentous week for Net Neutrality. The speakers will include Sen. Edward Markey, former FCC Commissioner Michael Copps, Free Press President and CEO Craig Aaron, Fight for the Future Campaign Director Evan Greer, and Center for Media Justice Executive Director Malkia Cyril.

On Thursday, the Federal Communications Commission is expected to pass strong Net Neutrality rules under Title II of the Communications Act. The Feb. 24
press call will discuss both this historic vote and two upcoming
congressional hearings on Net Neutrality. It will feature brief remarks
from leaders of the Net Neutrality movement followed by a Q&A with

We are at a pivotal moment in the fight for Net
Neutrality. FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler has responded to the overwhelming
public support for strong Title II protections by proposing rules built
on this legal framework. Since the FCC’s open Internet proceeding began
in May 2014, a record-breaking 4 million people have submitted comments.
A vast majority of commenters have urged the FCC to protect Internet
users’ rights and prevent a few powerful phone and cable companies from
controlling the future of communications.

Here are the details for the call:

WHAT: Press Teleconference on Net Neutrality, Congress and the FCC
WHEN: Tues., Feb. 24, 11:30 a.m. EST
CALL-IN NUMBERS: 877-876-9175 or 785-424-1668
WHO: Craig
Aaron of Free Press, Evan Greer of Fight for the Future, Rachel
Colyer of Daily Kos, former FCC Commissioner Michael Copps of Common
Cause, Malkia Cyril of the Center for Media Justice, Margaret Flowers of
Popular Resistance, Chris Lewis of Public Knowledge, U.S. Sen. Edward
Markey, Michael Scurato of the National Hispanic Media Coalition, Sarah
Morris of the New America Foundation’s Open Technology Institute, David
Segal of Demand Progress, and Michael Winship of Writers Guild of
America, East